Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Aceblade

State of the Project - August 2016 + CUEmu ARK Server

3 posts in this topic

Greetings all!

This State of the Project address is going to have a bit of a different tune to it this month (as I missed last month). I wanted to put a more personal spin on things and thank the CUEmu staff for all that they've done. I also wanted to share things from my perspective. 

Dreadlow and I have been working on things both front-end and back-end these last few months. Progress on the code has been slow and we've been banging our heads against that ugly crafting crash. I'm not a programmer, that's for sure,  and some of you may know me from SWGEmu as the former QA Leader there.  I haven't been of much help with the code itself but I have helped Dreadlow track down specific areas that the problem may be stemming from. Essentially this issue boils down to following crash and debug logs to figure out what the client is expecting and what we are throwing at it. It's a proverbial needle in the haystack and while I'd like to say it'll be resolved "soon" it's likely still a bit off.

We do have several candidates for development positions who we've reached out to in order to get a fresh perspective on things. We've been looking at the same code base, in regards to this specific issue, for the past several months and as with all things in life you're just too close to the problem to find the solution. We hope that when we bring on these new team members they'll be able to help resolve our final hurdle before launching TC-Katarn to the masses. 

Server Changes